The law in the State of New Jersey says: N.J.S.A. 39:4-89
According to (NJSA 39:4-89)
(1) If you’re the driver of a vehicle, you cannot follow another vehicle more closely than is “reasonable and prudent,” which means that you have to take into consideration the speed of the vehicle in front of you, the speed of the traffic, and the condition of the highway.
(2) If you’re the driver of a motor truck and you’re traveling on a highway that is outside of a business or residential district, you cannot follow another motor truck less than 100 feet behind. This doesn’t mean that you can’t overtake and pass that motor truck, however.
MVC points and penalties for (NJSA 39:4-89)
The New Jersey Motor Vehicles Commission (“MVC”) considers tailgating to be a serious offense and will add five points to your driving record if you commit this violation. If you get six or more points on your New Jersey driving record within three years, you will need to pay a $150 surcharge, plus $25 for each point beyond six. This is in addition to any court fines and penalties that you’ll receive for the underlying violation. If you collect 12 or more points on your driving record at any time, the MVC will suspend your driver’s license.
Fines for (NJSA 39:4-89)
The fine for tailgating is $85. If you commit this violation in a designated safe corridor, construction zone, or 65 mile-per-hour area, that fine is increased to $140.
Additionally, the municipal court can fine you any amount between $50 and $200 and/or imprison you in state prison for up to 15 days. The judge also has the discretion to suspend your driver’s license for a willful violation of this traffic law.
New Jersey – licensed automobile insurance providers also keep track of your traffic violations through an “insurance eligibility points” system that’s separate from, but similar to, the MVC point system. If you are convicted of or plead guilty to tailgating, you will receive five insurance eligibility points. This will result in higher insurance rates. If you reach seven or more points, you will no longer be able to purchase insurance coverage through the voluntary market; instead, you’ll have to go through the New Jersey Personal Automobile Insurance Plan (NJPAIP) for a more expensive at-risk insurance coverage.
If you just received a Tailgating Ticket (NJSA 39:4-89) in The State of New Jersey and have a any questions, call one of our experienced attorneys today to provide the clarity and peace of mind you are looking for.