05 Apr I Received a Reckless Driving Ticket in New Jersey
You needed to be somewhere 10 minutes ago, you’re late, we’ve all been there. Confident that if you simply went a little faster on the road, you would get to the destination just that much quicker. As you were driving you realized, “wait a minute I need to go faster”, now you think “I need to pass the car in front of me”. Before you know it, you see police lights flashing, and now you’re being pulled over. Within 5 minutes of being pulled over you have a reckless driving ticket and most likely a few other tickets to accompany it.
You’re wondering can I beat this? Will my insurance go up? Will this cost me a fortune?
Don’t panic! You can fight a reckless driving ticket, but to do so successfully you should understand what a reckless driving ticket in New Jersey entails; how do courts treat this; and; what will be my consequences?
According to statute 39:4-96, Reckless Driving in the state of New Jersey is defined as:
A person who drives a vehicle heedlessly, in willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others, in a manner so as to endanger, or be likely to endanger, a person or property.
Reckless Driving in New Jersey is a serious offense that if not taken care of properly can result in incarceration (up to 2 months for a 1st offense and not more than three months for a 2nd offense). One is also potentially facing:
- A fine from $50 to $200 for a 1st offense and up to $500 for a 2nd.
- Your license can, at the discretion of the court, be suspended for up to 45 days.
- An assessment of 5 points against your driving record.
How does the New Jersey Point System Work?
The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission charges points against your driving record for traffic offenses whether major or minor. This is specifically concerning because a reckless driving ticket may result in 5 points against one’s driving record.
An accumulation of 6 or more driving points within a 3-year period may result in the MVC charging a surcharge per year for three years. You can look at this surcharge as New Jersey’s way of saying “Follow traffic laws or you will “pay”, literally.”
With that said, it is abundantly clear you need to defend your Reckless Driving ticket.
Here’s the million-dollar question…
Do you really need an Attorney?
You should ask yourself the following:
- Can you afford $400 – $600 in fines?
- Do you want 5 points on your driving record? Can you even afford 5 more points? (Remember 6 or more points and there’s an annual surcharge for three years.)
- Are you willing to risk your insurance premium being raised? Or even, are you willing to risk being dropped from your insurance?
Hiring an Attorney will give you the highest chance of minimizing and potentially dismissing a Reckless Driving ticket in New Jersey.
Your Attorney will work to try and make sure your Reckless Driving is lowered to a lesser offense or find the grounds for an outright dismissal of the charge.
We don’t want you remain filled with worry, but it’s in your best interest to understand, assess, and tackle your issues. Give us a free call for a consultation, so you can sleep easy tonight.