fbpx

Possession of Marijuana Less than 50 Grams – N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10(a)(4)

Possession of Marijuana Less than 50 Grams – N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10(a)(4)

 

In the State of New Jersey, possessing under 50 grams of marijuana is a disorderly persons offense, while possessing more than 50 grams is a felony. Possessing under 50 grams of marijuana pursuant to N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10(a)(4) is a common offense. No one deserves to have a criminal record. Call an experienced attorney today who can discuss the next steps you can take if charged with this offense.

 

What Penalties Am I Facing?

 

An individual convicted of N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10(a)(4) is subject to a fine up to $1,000. Furthermore, the following are mandatory state assessments:

 

  • $50 VCCB
  • $75 Safe Neighborhood Services Fund
  • $33 court fees

 

Other penalties may include:

 

  • Up to 6 months in jail
  • Probation
  • Driver’s License Suspension pursuant to N.J.S.A. 2C:35-16
  • 100 hours of Community Service

 

What Are My Options If I Am Charged With This Offense?

 

To be found guilty of this offense, the state has the burden to prove you committed this offense beyond a reasonable doubt. Depending on the circumstances of your case, hiring an experienced attorney may lead to an outright dismissal or an amended charge through a plea bargain. First time offenders are eligible for a conditional discharge. This program requires an individual to comply with certain requirements for a set period. Upon completion of the program, the charges and original complaint are dismissed.

 

If you just received Possession of Marijuana Less than 50 Grams – N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10(a)(4) in The State of New Jersey and have any questions, call one of our experienced attorneys today to provide the clarity and peace of mind you are looking for.

 

 

 

Call Now ButtonCall Now - اتصل بنا الآن