fbpx

Possessing Stolen Property in New Jersey (N.J.S.A. 2C:20-7)

Possessing Stolen Property in New Jersey (N.J.S.A. 2C:20-7)

 

Being in possession of stolen property (AKA “Receiving stolen property”) is a crime in New Jersey (NJSA 2C:20-7).

 

You must understand the consequences if you are caught receiving stolen property.

 

What the Law says about Receiving Stolen Property.

 

Under (NJSA 2C:20-7), a person can be convicted of receiving stolen property if he knowingly received or brought the movable property of another into New Jersey while knowing that it has been stolen or believing that it probably was stolen.

In order to be found guilty, you first must have known that you received the goods and then you must have known (or reasonably believed) that the goods were stolen.

The purposes of this law, “receiving” involves acquiring possession, control, or title over the property. Lending on the security of the property is also considered “receiving” it.

If any of the following occur, New Jersey law will presume that you knew that you received the goods and knew (or reasonably believed) that the goods were stolen:

 

 

  • You are found in possession or control of two or more items of property that were stolen on two or more separate occasions
  • You received stolen property in another transaction within the year preceding the transaction you are now involved in and being charged for
  • You are a person who is in the business of buying or selling the kind of property that you received, but failed to find out (by reasonable inquiry) that the person you got the property from had a legal right to possess and dispose of it before acquiring it
  • You are found in possession of two or more defaced access devices

 

What are the Consequences for Possessing Stolen Property in NJ?

 

The penalties for being in possession of stolen property (i.e. receiving stolen property) can be found in N.J.S.A. 2C:20-11.

The value of the item you are found to have in your possession will determine the seriousness of the penalty you face.

If the property was valued at more than $75,000, you can be imprisoned for 5-10 years and fined up to $150,000.

If the property was valued at more than $500 but less than $75,000, you can be imprisoned for 3-5 years and fined up to $15,000.

If the property was valued at $200-$500, you can be imprisoned for 18 months and fined up to $10,000.

 

If you just received a Possessing Stolen Property (NJSA 2C:20-7) charge in the State of New Jersey and have any questions, call one of our experienced attorneys today to  provide the clarity and peace of mind you are looking for.

 

 

Call Now ButtonCall Now - اتصل بنا الآن