Speeding (NJSA 39:4-98) is one of the most common traffic tickets issued in New Jersey. For most of us, especially when driving on open roads, it’s rather simple to exceed the speed limit. The hard part is attempting to pay those heavy legal fines associated with speed tickets in New Jersey. As a driver in the state of New Jersey who has been issued a speeding ticket; know that you are not obligated to plead guilty and pay expensive fines. Here, at the Law Offices of Mekhail E. Sarofiem, we can help you fight your speeding ticket and ensure you a positive outcome.
The Different Speed Limits in New Jersey
New Jersey speed limits are as follows:
25 miles per hour in a school zone when children are visible from the roadway.
25 miles per hour in a business or residential district.
35 miles per hour in a suburban business or residential district.
50 miles per hour in all other locations.
These speeds are decided by the Commissioner of Transportation. A driver is also required to reduce speed as appropriate at a train crossing, curvy roads, hills, narrow roads or when pedestrians, traffic, weather, or highway conditions warrant it.
Fines and Penalties Associated with Speeding Tickets in New Jersey
If you are convicted of or plead guilty to a New Jersey speeding ticket, your punishment depends on two factors. First, how fast you were going ? And second, whether you were in a safe corridor or construction zone? Below are the fines you will have to pay for speeding outside of a safe corridor or construction zone:
Exceeding speed limit by 1-9 miles per hour, $85
Exceeding speed limit by 10-14 miles per hour, $95
Exceeding speed limit by 15-19 miles per hour, $105
Exceeding speed limit by 20-24 miles per hour, $200
Exceeding speed limit by 25-29 miles per hour, $220
Exceeding speed limit by 30-34 miles per hour, $240
Exceeding speed limit by 35-39 miles per hour, $260
Below are the fines you will have to pay for speeding within a safe corridor or construction zone:
Exceeding speed limit by 1-9 miles per hour, $140
Exceeding speed limit by 10-14 miles per hour, $160
Exceeding speed limit by 15-19 miles per hour, $180
Exceeding the speed limit by 40 miles per hour or more (or by 20 miles per hour or more in a construction zone or safe corridor) requires a court appearance.
In addition to the fines listed above, the New Jersey Motor Vehicle violation Commission will add points to your driving record. If you accumulate enough points, you will be subject to additional fines, or even a license suspension.
The points that will be added to your record for speeding are:
Exceeding speed limit by 1-14 miles per hour may equate in 2 Points.
Exceeding speed limit by 15-29 miles per hour may equate in 4 Points.
Exceeding speed limit by 30 miles per hour or more may equate in 5 Points.
New Jersey-licensed auto insurance providers have a separate system of “insurance eligibility points,” which is used to determine the premiums required being paid.
If you just received a Speeding Ticket in The State of New Jersey (NJSA 39:4-98) and have any questions, call one of our experience attorneys today to provide the clarity and peace of mind you are looking for.