If you’ve received a Racing on a Highway ticket in New Jersey (NJSA 39:4-52) , you could be facing a number of consequences. You’re facing the law, the municipal court judge and your automobile insurance company.
The Law: NJSA 39:4-52
The governing law is the New Jersey Statutes, Title 39, which is entitled “Motor Vehicles and Traffic Regulation.” NJSA 39:4-52 says:
“No person shall operate a motor vehicle upon a public highway for a wager or in a race or for the purpose of making a speed record.
“A person who violates this section shall be fined not less than twenty-five nor more than one hundred dollars for the first offense, and, for a subsequent offense, not less than one hundred nor more than two hundred dollars.”
MVC Points and Penalties
If you’re convicted of “racing on a highway”, the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) will penalize you by adding 5 points to your driving record. If you plead guilty or are found guilty by a New Jersey Municipal Court Judge, your driving record will suffer. You are automatically subject to two surcharges; a state surcharge and an insurance surcharge. If you incur 6 or more motor vehicle points in a short period of time, the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission will suspend your right to operate a motor vehicle in the State of New Jersey for at least 30 days. If you receive 12 or more motor vehicle points on your current driving record, you will be subject to an even longer suspension.
First-time offenders of racing cars on the highway will be fined anywhere between $25 and $100. All second or further offenses carry a mandatory fine of $100 to $200, in addition to court costs.
Driver’s License Suspension
In addition, the judge presiding over your matter has the discretion to suspend your driver’s license if he or she sees fit to do so.
A conviction for racing on a highway will not go unnoticed by your automobile insurer; your insurance premiums will go up as New Jersey licensed Automobile Insurance Provider will assess 6 “Insurance Eligibility Points” against your insurance record (that is in addition to the motor vehicle points assessed against your New Jersey Driver’s License).
If you just received a Racing on a Highway ticket in New Jersey (NJSA 39:4-52) and have any questions, call one of our experienced attorneys today to provide the clarity and peace of mind you are looking for.